Take action – protect amendment 4

For years, Florida citizens have supported ballot initiatives, only to see the state Legislature ignore the voice of the voters through the implementation process of these initiatives. Fair Districts passed and the Legislature spent millions of taxpayer dollars fighting against the will of the voters.

Now Amendment 4 is facing a similar situation. Our legislators have clearly shown a pattern of thumbing their nose at the voters and needlessly wasting taxpayer dollars. We deserve better. The Senate Judiciary Committee will hear SB 7086 on Monday, April 8 at 4 PM — a bill that could impact full implementation of Amendment 4, narrowing the language of those eligible to register to vote. Stop Florida legislators’ attempt to circumvent the will of the people and go beyond what voters intended. Let’s put the people’s voice over that of the politicians.

What can you do? Call or email the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and say this: Dear Senator ____, My name is _____ and I’m calling on behalf of the 1.4 million formerly convicted people throughout Florida who had the eligibility to vote restored by Amendment 4 last November. As a Florida voter, I am opposed to both the House and Senate Amendment 4 bills (SB 7086 and HB 7089) because they will restrict the number of people who are eligible to vote — undermining what the nearly 65% of Florida voters intended when passing Amendment 4. I’m urging the Senator to please vote NO on SB 7086. Thank you for your time.

Senate Judiciary Committee Chair David Simmons (R) (850) 487-5009 simmons.david@flsenate.gov

Vice Chair Jose Javier Rodriguez (D) (850) 487-5037 rodriguez.jose@flsenate.gov

Dennis Baxley (R) (850) 487-5012 baxley.dennis@flsenate.gov

Audrey Gibson (D) (850) 487-5006 gibson.audrey@flsenate.gov

Travis Hutson (R) (850) 487-5007 Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov

Kelli Stargel (R) (850) 487-5022 stargel.kelli@flsenate.gov

 

Keep moving forward,

Patricia Brigham President